Heritage Awards 2018

Page Updated (March 19th, 2019) @ (02:53 pm)

Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage (INTACH) had decided to offer a nation-wide Heritage Awards programme for excellence in Documentation of Unprotected Heritage Structures in India. The INTACH Heritage Awards Programme was established with an objective to encourage interest and talent of the students for the understanding and documentation of heritage buildings, and also develop and promote sensitivity and awareness amongst students of architecture across the country.


There will be three zones

  1. North
  2. Central
  3. South
a.     Awards of Excellence
To the author of the best documentation project
  Rs. 1,00,000 + Book + Certificate
 b.    Award of Merit
To the author of the first runner-up documentation project in each zone
  Rs. 30,000 + Book + Certificate
c.     Commendation Awards
To the authors of the three special mention – documentation projects in each zone
Rs. 15,000 + Book + Certificate


The competition will be run in accordance with the following time-table:

Awards guidelines will be made available by IHA 1st October 2018
Last Date for receipt of entries by post or by hand 31st January 2019
Judging dates
Short Listing of Jury March 2019
Declaration of Awards & Award Ceremony 18 April 2019


We are pleased to announce the results of ‘Heritage Awards for Excellence in Documentation of Unprotected Heritage 2018’:
Award of Excellence
  • Shanag – A Humble Hinterland Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai
Award of Merit 
North Zone
  • Water Structure: The incredible Historic resources of Narnaul. Chitkara School of Planning and Architecture, Chandigarh
South Zone
  • Shri Venkataraman Temple – A Community Temple, Mangaluru. Srinivas Institute of Technology, Mangaluru
Central Zone
  • Amritsar – Study of Architectural Transformation in Time and Space. Vadodara Design Academy: School of Architecture, Vadodara
Commendation Awards  
North Zone
  • Traditional Havelis – The Incredible Historic Resources of Narnaul. Chitkara School of Planning and Architecture, Chandigarh
South Zone
  • The jury felt that there was no entry that qualified for the commendation awards in the South Zone.
Central Zone
  • Temples of Deulwada IES College of Architecture, Mumbai 

For further information write to us on:

Navin Piplani
Principal Director pd.iha@intach.org
Amruta Vaidya
Research Assistant res1.iha@intach.org
 Shruti Kumar
Office Assistant admin.iha@intach.org